10th Month -Shawwal (The Month of Reward)


What is Shawwal ?

Shawwal is the 10th month of the Islamic (hijri) calendar and begins its first day with Eid Al-Fitr. It is renowned for the six days of Shawwal, which are six supererogatory fasts that hold immense reward. It is often regarded as a precious time to reflect on and continue the goodness that we have become habituated to in the preceding month: the blessed month of Ramadan.

Scholars have considered a sign that a Muslim’s observation of Ramadan has been accepted, is that they intend to fast the six days of Shawwal. In fact, Ibn Rajab (ra) said that doing so would be a way of demonstrating our gratitude to Allah (SWT) for the blessings, mercy, and reward that Ramadan has to offer.

“[Allah wants] for you to complete the period and to glorify Allah for that [to] which He has guided you; and perhaps you will be grateful” [Qur’an 2:185]

“Whoever fasts Ramadan and follows it with six days of Shawwal, it will be as if he fasted for a lifetime.”

  1. Muharram – The Month of Allah
  2. Safar – The Month of Distinction
  3. Rabi Al-Awwal – The Birth of the Beloved
  4. Rabi Al-Thani
  5. Jamada Al-Awwal
  6. Jamada Al-Thani
  7. RajabA Sacred Month
  8. Sha’banThe Neglected Month
  9. Ramadan – The Month of Fasting
  10. Shawwal – The Month of Reward
  11. Dhul Qadah – A Sacred Month
  12. Dhul Hijjah – The 10 Best Days (The Month of Hajj)
Translate »
Scroll to Top